Home Tag Archives: Galway

Tag Archives: Galway

Galway Pair & Limerick Star Nominated For Hurler Of The Year

Limerick’s Cian Lynch and Galway pair Joe Canning and Padraic Mannion have been nominated for 2018 Hurler of the Year.  Canning is aiming to retain his 2017 title and would be the first hurler to win the honour in two successive years. While this is Canning’s third nomination, it is the first time for both Mannion and Lynch, with the …

Read More »

Runners Up Cork Top List Of Nominations For U21 Team Of The Year

Darragh Fitzgibbon, Mark Coleman and Robbie O’Flynn are among eleven nominees for Cork for the Bord Gáis Energy U21 Team of the Year. Champions, Tipperary have nine nominations including Jake Morris, Ger Browne and Brian McGrath. Galway received the same amount of nominations as the Premier county with captain, Fintan Burke leading the charge. Man-of-the-match in the All Ireland senior final, …

Read More »

Champions On The Road As Provisional League Fixtures Released

The season may just have ended but already, attention has turned to 2019. All Ireland champions, Limerick and Dublin will begin their 2019 Allianz League fixtures on the road next January, according to the provisional fixtures. The Dubs will be away from home on four occasions during their league campaign, given the number of home games they had in 2018. …

Read More »

Aherne Brace Helps Dublin To Convincing Win Over Galway

Dublin 4-8 Galway 1-10 All Ireland champions booked their place in this year’s decider with a seven point win over Galway this afternoon. In the fourth minute Nicole Owens netted for Dublin and the All Ireland champions dominated from that point onwards. Sinead Aherne was nothing short of magnificent as she shot 1-2 without response. Sarah Conneally was lively in the middle of …

Read More »

Mannion Narrowly Beats Mulcahy To PA Hurler Of The Year Award

Following a suitably dramatic All Ireland final that finished an epic summer of hurling, we asked our readers to vote for their Hurler and Young Hurler of the Year.  After some brilliant performances, the nominees for Hurler of the Year were Joe Canning and Padraic Mannion of Galway and Graeme Mulcahy from the All Ireland champions, Limerick. Cork’s Mark Coleman …

Read More »

Micheál Donoghue Vows Resilient Galway Will Bounce Back

Galway manager, Micheál Donoghue has vowed that his side will recover from their one-point loss to Limerick in the All Ireland final at the weekend and come back stronger.  The Tribesmen found themselves eight points down after 68 minutes but fought their way back to within a point during additional time. Donoghue has hailed the character of his players to recover …

Read More »

Limerick Dominate Pundit Arena Hurling Team Of The Year


One of the greatest hurling championships of the modern era has come to a close with Limerick taking home the Liam MacCarthy Cup. We’re left with some fantastic memories of outstanding performances. After much consideration and debate, we have selected our team of the year. 1 Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny) The Kilkenny goalkeeper has been unrivalled in the championship this year. He performed …

Read More »