Home GAA Five Inter-County Stars Looking For Club Championship Glory This Weekend

Five Inter-County Stars Looking For Club Championship Glory This Weekend

There are 19 county finals this up for decision as the busiest weekend of the club season to date is upon us. Some of the biggest names in the sport are involved looking to extend their seasons at club level.

Here are five of the biggest stars that are featuring in county finals on Sunday.

Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh)

The meeting of Na Piarsaigh and Kilmallock in the Limerick SHC final sees a host of inter-county stars on show. In all, the 2016 All-Ireland club champions have 22 players who have represented the Treaty County at either minor, u-21 or senior level. They boast well-known names such as Kevin Downes and Peter Casey in their dangerous attack.

AIB GAA Hurling Senior Club Championship Final, Croke Park, Dublin 17/3/2016 Na Piarsaigh vs Ruairí Óg Cushendall Na Piarsaigh's Shane Dowling Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan

However, it is Dowling who they will look to in order to get over the line and secure a fourth county title.


Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)

The Clare defender will line out for Sixmilebridge as they look to reclaim the Clare SHC title when they take on Clooney-Quin.

Their opponents defeated a highly-rated Clonlara side in the last four while the Bridge were two-point winners over Newmarket-on-Fergus.

Cathal Malone is also on the Sixmilebridge side, while Clooney-Quin will be looking to Peter Duggan for inspiration.


Micheál Daly (Mountbellew/Moylough)

Galway’s centre forward will be looking to lead Mountbellew/Moylough to success when they take on Corofin.

Daly’s side will be up against it as they go in search of a first title since 1986 when they try to dethrone the defending champions.


Fergal Conway (Celbridge)

Celbridge take on Moorefield in an intriguing Kildare SFC decider on Sunday with inter-county attacker Fergal Conway poised to play a key role for his side.

Moorefield were beaten in last year’s final but did win the title in 2013 and 2014. Cellbrdge won their only title to date in 2008 – when they beat Sarsfields in a replay.


Peter Harte (Errigal Ciaran)

One of the most exciting finals this weekend is the clash of Omagh and Errigal Ciaran for the O’Neill Cup in Tyrone.

Seven-time champions Errigal Ciaran will be led by Peter Harte. Harte, who is one of the finest footballers in the country, will be looking for club glory after Tyrone’s season ended in a disappointment with a heavy defeat to Dublin in the All-Ireland semi-final.

Standing in Harte’s way will be an Omagh St Enda’s side looking for a ninth title in the Red hand County, which will bring them up to third in the roll of honour.

Joel Slattery, Pundit Arena


Check out the latest episode of The 16th Man, where we reviewed all the latest club action.

About Joel Slattery