Home GAA Here Is The Mayo Team Charged With Ending 66 Years Of Hurt

Here Is The Mayo Team Charged With Ending 66 Years Of Hurt

Mayo head for Croke Park on Sunday eager to bring to an end 66 years of hurt. The Connacht side have taken a rocky road to the final, with nine games in total.

Galway ended their Connacht hopes after an opening round win over Sligo, as they faced into the back door for a second consecutive year.

From there, Clare were the only team of five not to draw with Mayo in the original 70 minutes.

Extra-time was needed to see off Derry and Cork, while Roscommon and Kerry weren’t vanquished until after replays.

Stephen Rochford is not a man to shy away from a big decision, and has tonight named his team for Sunday’s decider.

Mayo Starting Lineup:

  1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)
  2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
  3. Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)
  4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)
  5. Lee Keegan (Westport)
  6. Chris Barrett (Belmullet)
  7. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
  8. Seamus O’Shea (Breaffy)
  9. Tom Parsons (Charlestown)
  10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
  11. Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy)
  12. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber)
  13. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)
  14. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber, captain)
  15. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)


Make sure to check out the latest episode of The 16th Man podcast, where we hear from Marc Ó Sé as we look ahead to the All-Ireland football final.

Stream all 10 Sky Sports channels live with NOW TV. Grab a Day, Week or Month Pass here. No contract required.

About Brian Barry