Home GAA The Dublin County Championship Team Of The Year Is Littered With Talent

The Dublin County Championship Team Of The Year Is Littered With Talent

Following a thoroughly entertaining Dublin Senior Football Championship this year, St Vincent’s were crowned champions with a win over Ballymun Kickhams in the final. After the excellent coverage by eir Sport of the games, we were treated to some crackers at Parnell Park.

While Rathnew shocked the northside club in the Leinster Championship, it was still a groundbreaking year for the tournament, given the increased coverage it received.

Today, the annual Dubs Stars team, an all-star side for the championship, has been announced, and it’s littered with talent.

Jim Gavin is sure to have been an interested observer as he plots for 2018.

Goalkeeper: Michael Savage (St Vincent’s)

Right corner-back: Craig Wilson (St Vincent’s)

Full-back: Jarlath Curley (St Vincent’s)

Left corner-back: Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)

Right half-back: Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)

Centre half-back: Ger Brennan (St Vincent’s)

Left half-back: Carl Keeley (Ballymun Kickhams)

Midfield: James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)

Midfield: Nathan Mullins (St Vincent’s)

Right half-forward: Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)

Centre half-forward: Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincent’s)

Left half-forward: Jason Whelan (Ballymun Kickhams)

Right corner-forward: Niall Coakley (St Jude’s)

Full-forward: Paddy Small (Ballymun Kickhams)

Left corner-forward: Pat Burke (Kilmacud Crokes)


Shane Supple (St Brigid’s)

Mark Sweeney (St Jude’s)

John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)

John O’Loughlin (St Brigid’s)

Kevin McManamon (St Jude’s)

Gary Sweeney (St Sylvester’s)

Tomás Quinn (St Vincent’s)


Make sure to check out the latest episode of The 16th Man, where we chat to Con O’Callaghan following Cuala’s Leinster title victory.

About Brian Barry